2012 Winners

In its inaugural year the Football Blogging Awards was hugely successful. Set out with a vision of sourcing the best football blogs as voted by fans we unearthed some of the best talent in football blogging and raised them into the limelight.

Set out independently, a grand total of 10,115 votes were taken through a revolutionary counting system reaching over 2M people in the process, the first ever Football Blogging Awards was ready to kick off.

On a warm night in July, between the close of Euro 2012 and the start of the London 2012 Olympics, organisers Anthony and Richard (and a little help from some friends) were ready to host over a hundred people with a shoestring budget. Stretching from border to border, we had visitors from most major cities in the UK and a few from overseas. We welcomed people from the BBC, MEN, Manchester City, Stockport County, Justin Campaign, Hyde FC, Conducttr and many more organisations.

The night kicked off with a bang as every guest was presented on arrival with a champagne reception and bloggers had a chance to meet and introduce themselves to each other.

Presenter Sunny Radia soon got things started and had the crowd in stitches as he loosened them up with his charm. Guests from the Justin Campaign were welcomed on stage to explain the cause they work for – Football Vs Homophobia – as the profits from the event went to assist them.

Shortly after, the awards were presented. Up first for grabs was the Best Male Football Blog Award. The winner Stuart Furniss, representing The 4th Official had to fight off stern competition from Six Tame Sides, FitbaThatba and Feint Zebra, all who had received two or more nominations.

The next award up for grabs was the most tightly contested award, the Best Female Football Blog Award. The Liver Bird graciously accepted the award, whilst representatives from the nominees Miss SW6, Girl on a Terrace, YICETOR and Scouser Laura watched on.

Mike Smith from Six Tame Sides took the Best Veteran Football Blog Award in his other nomination against opposition from In Bed With Maradona, Bundesliga Fanatic and On the Ponty End.

In the award which had the most nominations, David Michael from the Aston Villa website My Old Man Said, battled the websites Ballsy Banter, Gibbo’s 92, The Coin Toss and Fresh Air Football to win the highly coveted Best New Football Blog Award.

The Best Comedy Football Blog winners FitbaThatba couldn’t make it to the event so instead filmed a highly entertaining skit which brought many smiles and grins to the crowd. Even the other nominees for this award Total Dribble, Football Fatties and double nominee Feint Zebra watched on in amusement.

Chelsea Football Fancast were surprised to win the Best Football Podcast Award over rivals Stop! Hammer Time, From the Rookery End and The Square Ball. Nonetheless, David Chidgey graciously accepted the award and praised the efforts of the Football Blogging Awards.

FitbaThatba were up for yet another award in the Best Football Video Blog but lost to Donagh Corby of The League of Ireland Interview Show who also thought off competition from Football Exclusives.

Last, but certainly not least, The Best Club Specific Football Blog went to Swedish born and Brazilian based Kris Bengtson for Anything Palmeiras with the bi-lingual website beating George Weah’s Cousin, Famous CFC and We Are Brighton to the final award of the night.

Full List of Winners and Nominees


Best Male Football Blog Winner – The 4th Official

Best Female Football Blog Winner – The Liver Bird

Best Established Football Blog Winner – Six Tame Sides

Best New Football Blog Winner – My Old Man Said

Best Comedy Football Blog Winner – FitbaThatba

Best Football Podcast Winner – Chelsea Fancast

Best Video Football Blog Winner – The League of Ireland Interview Show

Best Football Club Blog Winner – Anything Palmeiras


Best Male Football Blog Nominees – Six Tame SidesFitbaThatbaFeint Zebra

Best Female Football Blog Nominees – Miss SW6Girl on a TerraceYICETORScouser Laura

Best Established Football Blog Nominees – INWMBundesliga FanaticOn the Ponty End

Best New Football Blog Nominees – Ballsy BanterGibbo’s 92, The Coin Toss, Fresh Air Football

Best Comedy Football Blog Nominees – Total DribbleFootball FattiesFeint Zebra

Best Football Podcast Nominees – Stop! Hammer TimeFrom the Rookery EndThe Square Ball

Best Video Football Blog Nominees – FitbaThatbaFootball Exclusives

Best Football Club Blog Nominees – George Weah’s CousinFamous CFCWe Are Brighton